Site Suggestions?

I am essentially a self-taught novice web developer, so there are probably lots of cool things I can do and haven’t yet done. Any ideas? I’d particularly like feedback from people who have any limitations I might not have at the front of my mind, as I’d like to make Stately Play as welcoming as possible, but might not realize the best way to do that, out of ignorance.

Some things which are already on my radar:

• RSS and social media links
  • Badges for Discourse to award to tournament winners (Discourse has some pretty neat features; I’m nothing like well-informed about them all, and would be happy to have others recommended to me)
  • Ads!

I know, ads are an irritant, but my current thinking is that I’m going to avoid using an ad service which might place ads which can install malware, as that’s been a problem elsewhere. I don’t know of another way to fund the site other than continuing to have it be my pet project; I don’t anticipate wanting a corporate patron any time soon, and affiliate links are fine, but I assume they’re relatively low-yield. I’m open to suggestions, though.

The other thing I could use some feedback on is how much do you all want to know about the background? I’m a pretty open person, so I’d be perfectly happy to do things like post the exact finances of the site. I don’t know whether that’s weird, though. I can imagine my writers not wanting to disclose how much they’re paid, for example, and there’s perhaps something fun about maintaining the mystique of the super-competent company. I mean, PR must be the way it is for a reason, right? But with the ethical elements of game journalism a source of substantial discomfort for a lot of people, I’m inclined to be as open as I reasonably can be. Especially since I and others have worked in a situation which made even us uncomfortable, I don’t blame anyone who might be a little chary about trusting us.