Should I Buy a MacBook Pro?

Hi everyone,
I’m considering to buy a MacBook Pro for many reasons. Two things I’m not sure about:

1. Would I be able run my games on it: Civ, Stellaris, Unity of Command? Can I use my Steam library on my MacBook, if the game runs on Mac?

2. How convenient is it to do occasional work (Word, PowerPoint, etc.) on a MacBook? Can it replace my desktop PC for that? I’m not a programmer or graphic designer or so, I would just need it for occasional presentations, online banking, managing the household cloud etc.

Has anyone bought a MacBook and regretted it afterwards. Any experiences would be helpful, thanks.

I have 2 MacBook Pros. My personal and my work computer. I work for a fortune 1000 tech company also.

1. Civ 6 plays just fine on my 13-inch 2.3 GHz i5 with 16GB RAM. (this is my work laptop, my personal is a 3.1 i5, and it is even a little better) Not sure on the others there though. City Skylines can bog down a little on an older map I have been building for some time, but not with a new map. I own almost all of my content on Steam.

2. On my work laptop, I currently have like 50 google doc tabs open, about 5 power point presentations and probably a dozen excel spreadsheets, along with Outlook, and Webex Teams running…all right this very second. Works great.

1 Like

Nope! And I specifically installed Windows 10 on the Boot Camp partition so I could play my PC-only Steam games on it. Works flawlessly!

1 Like

Thanks so much for the answers so far.

Some more questions that are on my mind:

• How is the internal keyboard if you type a lot? Did you guys need to get an external one?

• For the games mentioned above, do you prefer a mouse or do you go with the touchpad?

• Also the price range between 13- and 16 -inch seems huge, so that I would go for the smaller one because of that. Do you find that sufficient for your uses?